F1, new starting grid in Monza: because Verstappen starts 7th and not 4th.  The question of "ghost" pilots ...

F1, new starting grid in Monza: because Verstappen starts 7th and not 4th. The question of “ghost” pilots …

The starting grid of the Italian GP 2022stage of the F1 World Championship that is staged on the Monza circuit, was made official only in the late evening. The deployment was affected by penalties inflicted on as many as nine drivers out of the twenty participants, due to the replacement of components on the various single-seaters. There is an important fix compared to what was defined at the end of the qualifications: Max Verstappen will start from the seventh position and not from the fourth pitch. What happened and what does the regulation provide?


Max Verstappen had finished qualifying in second position behind Charles Leclerc. The World Champion had to deal with a relegation of five places, but behind him were placed Carlos Sanz, Sergio Perez and Lewis Hamilton: the Spaniard and the British must start from the back of the grid, the Mexican must pay a penalty of ten positions. Thus, initially it was thought that only George Russell and Lando Norris surpassed the penalized Verstappen, who was credited with fourth position.

The FIA ​​then published the official starting grid and here it is Verstappen is seventh. Basically Sainz, Perez and Hamilton are treated as “ghosts”, as penalized: Verstappen goes from second to seventhbeing overtaken not only by Russell and Norris, but also by Daniel Ricciardo, Pierre Gasly and Fernando Alonso.

Sergio Perez finished in fourth place and the ten penalty positions, with the first reworking, projected him to tenth place. Sainz, Perez and Hamilton are however “ghosts” and so Perez slips to 14th place, which then becomes 13th as Esteban Ocon (eleventh in qualifying) has to serve a penalty of five places.


1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

2. George Russell (Mercedes)

3. Lando Norris (McLaren)

4. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)

5. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

6. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)

7. Max Verstappen (Red Bull), penalized by 5 places

8. Nick De Vries (Williams)

9. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

10. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

11. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

12. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

13. Sergio Perez (Red Bull), penalized by 10 places

14. Esteban Ocon (Alpine), penalized by 5 positions

15. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo), penalized by 15 places

16. Kevin Magnussen (Haas), penalized by 15 places

17. Mick Schumacher (Haas), penalized by 15 places

18. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari), penalized and starts from the bottom

19. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes), penalized and starts from the bottom

20. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri), penalized and starts from the back


1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)

2. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

3. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)

4. Sergio Perez (Red Bull)

5. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)

6. George Russell (Mercedes)

7. Lando Norris (McLaren)

8. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)

9. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri)

10. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)

11. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)

12. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)

13. Nyck De Vries (Williams)

14. Guanyu Zhou (Alfa Romeo)

15. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

15. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)

16. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)

17. Sebastian Vettel (Aston Martin)

18. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)

19. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)

20. Mick Schumacher (Haas)

Photo: Lapresse

#starting #grid #Monza #Verstappen #starts #7th #4th #question #ghost #pilots

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.